This website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience. By continuing to use this site, you consent to the use of cookies on your device as described in our Cookie Policy.
Book Now

Reviews

8.2 Review score
Score Breakdown
Cleanliness
8.4
Comfort
8.3
Property location
7.9
Facilities
8.1
Staff
8.9
Value
7.9
Reviews
    Daniel
    au
    7.9
    9 December 2017
    Given a room with smoking odour.
    View of the lake. Beautiful sunrise
    Paul Mc Cann
    de
    7.5
    18 November 2017
    Great Onsen in beautiful Matsue
    It looks a bit tired..could do with a refurbish..
    The Onsen was the best!
    Sébastien Santurette
    dk
    5.4
    16 November 2017
    The staff was inflexible with check-in time. Despite what was written online, there was no breakfast or any meals available on site. The worst thing was that we saw a big cockroach in the staircase close to the restaurant area, probably linked to the fact that no food was available? We pointed it out to the staff but there were no explanations or apologies. Given the rather high price and advertised standard of the place, they should not have accepted hosts in such a situation or at least warned us. It's a nice walk along the lake but the location is far from Matsue JR Station.
    The room was spacious and futons comfortable. Nice onsen and accessories in the room. Lake view was pleasant.
    Nicola
    gb
    9.6
    26 October 2017
    Good value
    I walked there but not and took my own food.Despife saying they do meals there is nothing and there do not seem to be any local restaurants. Looks shabby outside but very nice inside and very clean and welcoming. Suited my needs and I like walking.
    Friendly staff.Valye for money
    au
    10
    9 October 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Seongbin
    kr
    10
    7 October 2017
    Two thumbs up. Great location and nice view through the windows. Great hospitality. Great bath room.
    jp
    10
    2 October 2017
    The staff was very friendly and attentive to our needs. When we first arrived we were asked if we wanted tea while they went over our accomidation with us and the night before we left, we were asked if we needed transportation to the airport. The room was comfortable and the view was beautiful. If I go to Matsue again, I would like to stay here one more time.
    jp
    10
    11 September 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Laura Lavorato
    gb
    9.2
    23 August 2017
    Awesome Japanese hospitality
    Check in at 16.00 is not ideal, particularly if - like us- one arrives by train in the morning.
    The staff was absolutely AMAZING. We loved everything about this place. The bath was nice (though disappointingly the ladies' outside pool was closed:/) the room was lovely, the view ofthe lake beautiful. We wished wecould have stayed longer!
    hk
    7.5
    15 June 2017
    Location wise, it is not far from the station. However, the road to the ryokan is rugged and quite difficult to pull the suitcase. The ryokan itself is a bit run down, especially for the onsen. The onsen is small and crowded if you have more than 3 ppl in at the same time.
    Staff are helpful and some of them can speak English. Food is nice.
    Beatrix
    jp
    8.8
    9 June 2017
    Family-like hospitality. Our room had its own toilet (shower and bathing facilities were in the common onsen area). We stayed overnight without meals, and the price was very reasonable.
    Max
    de
    10
    1 June 2017
    Wonderful Ryokan!
    The connection to Matsue train station could be better.
    Beatiful room with a view on the lake, excellent japanese breakfast and a very nice onsen.
    Kingsley
    gb
    9.6
    18 May 2017
    Great Ryokan
    Nothing.
    Helpful and friendly staff . The Hot Spring baths were amazing - the best I used on the trip.
    George
    es
    7.9
    26 April 2017
    Good place to spend some time in Matsue
    Trying to get to the JR station for an early train proved to be challenging; few early buses and they couldn't organize us a taxi at short notice
    The view of the lake, size of room, the breakfast and treatment by staff. We were able to walk to main attractions, used buses for restaurants.
    Simon
    gb
    9.6
    18 April 2017
    Outsanding accommodation in Matsue
    Nothing to mention here
    An absolutely outstanding accommodation experience. This felt like staying in a 5-star hotel with an authentic Japanese feel. The hosts were very nice indeed and most welcoming. The breakfast is sensational, and the onsen very comfortable. We will definitely stay here again if returning to Matsue and would *highly recommend* this to other tourists.
    Naho
    gb
    7.9
    15 April 2017
    Very friendly staff
    hk
    9.6
    10 April 2017
    Good
    Welcome drink, dinner & breakfast - All good
    Claire
    de
    9.6
    23 February 2017
    Highly recommended - fantastic food, lovely staff and great onsen
    Some neighbouring guests were very noisy on two of the nights we stayed, but this was just unfortunate timing. The third night once they were gone was very peaceful.
    Staff were fantastic. Very helpful and genuine people. The food was delicious. We stayed in several ryokans on our trip, and the food here was the best. The onsen was great, and using the outside onsen in the snow was very memorable (and surprisingly pleasant). The location is good.
    Donkey86
    de
    9.6
    8 January 2017
    The view on the lake from the room and dining room was very beautiful. The personal was very polite and the meal's are delicious.
    Antonin
    ch
    9.6
    4 January 2017
    Amazing Ryokan in Matsue
    It's a little bit far away, but it's a nice walk along the shore.
    Bath facilities Kindness of staff View from room
Loading reviews
Close