Reviews

8.2
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
8.3
Comfort
8.3
Property location
8.0
Facilities
8.0
Staff
8.9
Value
7.9

Reviews

    Hayley Street
    au

    Review score

    10
    14 April 2018

    Fabulous!

    There is nothing I didn't like about the property.
    Exceeded all expectations. Staff were polite and made me feel right at home. Beautiful view of Lake Shinji from both my room and dining room. Public bath was amazing. Breakfast, delicious. Futon, comfortable. Enjoyed the music and incense as I walked through the halls. Hope to stay there again one day.
    Karla
    ar

    Review score

    8.3
    13 April 2018

    Excellent stay with defficient communication

    I had informed in advance that we travel with our child and nobody told me there was an extra charge of more than 15%. Those details really annoy me. I should have been informed so I can decide. They had not even a detail with the kid (no yukatas for her, not even a pillow). I was informed of this with the bill in the check out as personnel from the hotel almost do not speak english. I complaint but communication was very hard. So, the hotel ammenities and confort was very very good but communication is pretty hard. It is a shame since we had really liked the hotel. Another drawback is that dinner at the place is not an option and we did not find restaurants in the area.
    The massage sofa was awesome! That single ítem was everything for us (we have a toddler so no time to relax). The view from the room was incredible! Beds were ok. Teapot, cups, fridge were very convenient.
    Daniel
    au

    Review score

    7.9
    9 December 2017
    Given a room with smoking odour.
    View of the lake. Beautiful sunrise
    Paul Mc Cann
    de

    Review score

    7.5
    18 November 2017

    Great Onsen in beautiful Matsue

    It looks a bit tired..could do with a refurbish..
    The Onsen was the best!
    Sébastien Santurette
    dk

    Review score

    5.4
    16 November 2017
    The staff was inflexible with check-in time. Despite what was written online, there was no breakfast or any meals available on site. The worst thing was that we saw a big cockroach in the staircase close to the restaurant area, probably linked to the fact that no food was available? We pointed it out to the staff but there were no explanations or apologies. Given the rather high price and advertised standard of the place, they should not have accepted hosts in such a situation or at least warned us. It's a nice walk along the lake but the location is far from Matsue JR Station.
    The room was spacious and futons comfortable. Nice onsen and accessories in the room. Lake view was pleasant.
    Nicola
    gb

    Review score

    9.6
    26 October 2017

    Good value

    I walked there but not and took my own food.Despife saying they do meals there is nothing and there do not seem to be any local restaurants. Looks shabby outside but very nice inside and very clean and welcoming. Suited my needs and I like walking.
    Friendly staff.Valye for money
    au

    Review score

    10
    9 October 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Seongbin
    kr

    Review score

    10
    7 October 2017
    Two thumbs up. Great location and nice view through the windows. Great hospitality. Great bath room.
    jp

    Review score

    10
    2 October 2017
    The staff was very friendly and attentive to our needs. When we first arrived we were asked if we wanted tea while they went over our accomidation with us and the night before we left, we were asked if we needed transportation to the airport. The room was comfortable and the view was beautiful. If I go to Matsue again, I would like to stay here one more time.
    jp

    Review score

    10
    11 September 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Laura Lavorato
    gb

    Review score

    9.2
    23 August 2017

    Awesome Japanese hospitality

    Check in at 16.00 is not ideal, particularly if - like us- one arrives by train in the morning.
    The staff was absolutely AMAZING. We loved everything about this place. The bath was nice (though disappointingly the ladies' outside pool was closed:/) the room was lovely, the view ofthe lake beautiful. We wished wecould have stayed longer!
    hk

    Review score

    7.5
    15 June 2017
    Location wise, it is not far from the station. However, the road to the ryokan is rugged and quite difficult to pull the suitcase. The ryokan itself is a bit run down, especially for the onsen. The onsen is small and crowded if you have more than 3 ppl in at the same time.
    Staff are helpful and some of them can speak English. Food is nice.
    Beatrix
    jp

    Review score

    8.8
    9 June 2017
    Family-like hospitality. Our room had its own toilet (shower and bathing facilities were in the common onsen area). We stayed overnight without meals, and the price was very reasonable.
    Max
    de

    Review score

    10
    1 June 2017

    Wonderful Ryokan!

    The connection to Matsue train station could be better.
    Beatiful room with a view on the lake, excellent japanese breakfast and a very nice onsen.
    Kingsley
    gb

    Review score

    9.6
    18 May 2017

    Great Ryokan

    Nothing.
    Helpful and friendly staff . The Hot Spring baths were amazing - the best I used on the trip.
    George
    es

    Review score

    7.9
    26 April 2017

    Good place to spend some time in Matsue

    Trying to get to the JR station for an early train proved to be challenging; few early buses and they couldn't organize us a taxi at short notice
    The view of the lake, size of room, the breakfast and treatment by staff. We were able to walk to main attractions, used buses for restaurants.
    Simon
    gb

    Review score

    9.6
    18 April 2017

    Outsanding accommodation in Matsue

    Nothing to mention here
    An absolutely outstanding accommodation experience. This felt like staying in a 5-star hotel with an authentic Japanese feel. The hosts were very nice indeed and most welcoming. The breakfast is sensational, and the onsen very comfortable. We will definitely stay here again if returning to Matsue and would *highly recommend* this to other tourists.
    Naho
    gb

    Review score

    7.9
    15 April 2017
    Very friendly staff
    hk

    Review score

    9.6
    10 April 2017

    Good

    Welcome drink, dinner & breakfast - All good
    Claire
    de

    Review score

    9.6
    23 February 2017

    Highly recommended - fantastic food, lovely staff and great onsen

    Some neighbouring guests were very noisy on two of the nights we stayed, but this was just unfortunate timing. The third night once they were gone was very peaceful.
    Staff were fantastic. Very helpful and genuine people. The food was delicious. We stayed in several ryokans on our trip, and the food here was the best. The onsen was great, and using the outside onsen in the snow was very memorable (and surprisingly pleasant). The location is good.
Loading reviews